# **EOFSYDNEY**

# **Resolution of Council**

19 September 2022

Item 4.3

## **Central Sydney Planning Committee - Election of Councillors**

## Memorandum by the Chief Executive Officer

To Council:

The Central Sydney Planning Committee (CSPC) is constituted by the City of Sydney Act 1988 (the Act).

Section 34(1) of the Act provides that the Committee shall consist of seven members:

- (a) the Lord Mayor of Sydney;
- (b) two councillors of the City of Sydney elected by the City Council; and
- (c) four persons (two of whom are senior State government employees and two of whom are not State or local government employees) appointed by the Minister administering Part 4 of the Planning Act, each having expertise in at least one of architecture, building, civic design, construction, engineering, transport, tourism, the arts, planning or heritage.

The persons currently appointed by the Minister pursuant to clause (c) as members and alternate members are Abbie Galvin, Brett Whitworth, Dick Persson AM, Richard Horne, Olivia Hyde, David Gainsford, Julian Frecklington and Bruce James.

Previously, the Council has chosen to hold a separate election for each of the two Councilelected members; the elections were by open, exhaustive voting (that is, by a show of hands or similar means for candidates duly nominated).

At the Council meeting of 21 February 2022, Council elected Councillors Jess Scully and HY William Chan to the two positions on the Central Sydney Planning Committee, for a term commencing immediately and ending on 30 September 2022.

The Act provides that Council may appoint an alternate for each of the elected members. At the Council meeting of 21 February 2022, Council appointed Councillor Robert Kok as alternate to Councillor Scully and Councillor (Waskam) Emelda Davis as alternate to Councillor Chan until 30 September 2022.

Council will be required to elect the two Council-elected members (and two alternates) for a term commencing immediately and ending on 30 September 2023.

### **MONICA BARONE**

Chief Executive Officer

Moved by the Chair (the Lord Mayor), seconded by Councillor Chan -

- (A) Council elect two Councillors to be members of the Central Sydney Planning Committee for a term commencing immediately following the election and ending on 30 September 2023;
- (B) the method of voting be open, exhaustive voting;
- (C) the Chief Executive Officer conduct the election forthwith; and
- (D) Council appoint alternates for each member elected.

Carried unanimously.

S062388

At this stage of the meeting, the Chief Executive Officer, as Returning Officer, called upon the Council Business Coordinator to assist with the conduct of the ballot.

The Council Business Coordinator invited nominations from Councillors for the first position on the Central Sydney Planning Committee.

One nomination for the first position on the Central Sydney Planning Committee was received, as follows –

Councillor Jess Scully (nominated by Councillor Chan, seconded by Councillor Davis), noting the alternate member is to be Councillor Robert Kok.

Councillor Scully indicated acceptance of her nomination.

The Council Business Coordinator then declared Councillor Jess Scully duly elected to the first position on the Central Sydney Planning Committee for a term commencing immediately and ending 30 September 2023.

The Council Business Coordinator invited nominations from Councillors for the second position on the Central Sydney Planning Committee.

One nomination for the second position on the Central Sydney Planning Committee was received, as follows –

Councillor HY William Chan (nominated by Councillor Scully, seconded by Councillor Kok), noting the alternate member is to be Councillor (Waskam) Emelda Davis.

Councillor Chan indicated acceptance of his nomination.

The Council Business Coordinator then declared Councillor HY William Chan duly elected to the second position on the Central Sydney Planning Committee for a term commencing immediately and ending 30 September 2023.